Here is what our students think about Superbike-Coach. Read the testimonials from our clients, or send us your opinion/testimonial if you was a student already (to use a form, scroll all the way down).

Testimonials & Reviews about Superbike-Coach

superbike-coach-cornering-school

Coach saw I had my feathers ruffled. With grass hanging off my shoulder and mud packed into my side of my bike, he encouraged me to get back out there so I can get past it. He stressed, “You must go back out there and move past it. Otherwise, it will haunt you more over time.” (Paraphrasing) I’m glad he did.- Phillip Leung, Supermoto 1on1

I have Cornering Day 2 coming up this weekend 9/13. It will be my 7th class with Coach Can. My story with Coach is similar to some above as you have read in that after 18 yrs of daily commutes and occasional touring, I decided to buy a used 2008 Ducati Hypermotard 1100s 4 years ago. I quickly realized that the poor bike was disappointed and frowning each time I pulled up to work and arrived at home. It wanted to get out and really be ridden. So I found Coach’s SuperMoto 1:3 class through search engines and signed up. I remember it being in Nov 2016 on the Little 99. It turned out to be just me and Coach. I’ve never been to a track and had no idea what I was doing nor what anyone else was doing. I brought what I had : 18 yrs of street riding experience, my newly acquire Ducati, and the will to learn and be better. The SuperMoto classes are different I learned later than the Cornering Classes. You are in an open track with many other riders not signed up with Coach. As a result, it was hectic, people are passing you and with ZERO track experience, I was nervous and scared, but still committed to learn. Cornering Classes are all students of SuperBike Coach, so better managed and controlled. Towards the middle of the day, some yahoo passed me on turn 1 before turn 2 cutting me off on the left. My 18 yrs of home grown street riding reaction sent me into the wet Nov grass to the right and I put the Ducati down. I picked up the bike and rode it back to our paddock. Coach saw I had my feathers ruffled. With grass hanging off my shoulder and mud packed into my side of my bike, he encouraged me to get back out there so I can get past it. He stressed, “You must go back out there and move past it. Otherwise, it will haunt you more over time.” (Paraphrasing) I’m glad he did. Fast forward to today, I’m riding in Group A, on the same Ducati. I bring along friends and family who want to learn the right way. Sign them up to the class so they can benefit from the eye opening REAL lessons that are offered in Coach’s classes. We “learn the right things in the right time, in the right doses..” as Coach puts it. My current goal is to further sharpen my skills in reading and executing on my lines, using the Day 2 and Day 3 skills I’ve learned. It’s an endless perpetual cycle of continuous improvement. I really don’t think I’ll ever be “done”.  Next, Day 3 refresher in Dec 2020, Track Academy, Wheelie Class, and may do SuperMoto 1:3 over again. This time with 22 yrs+ of riding experience, of which 4+ yrs are now on the track. Also, with my sharpened skills, elevated mindset, and tightened relationship with my Ducati and the track. Definitely lots more fun to come. Any advise I have for riders considering a class with Coach, whether you want to understand where the clutch is on the Beginners 1:1 or want to know where to put your elbow in Track Academy, is 3 things :
1) Get in shape. Physically. You will be thankful you did. To get better on the bike demands that you are physically capable. Coming out to the track in poor physical shape will limit what you’ll be able and capable to do.
2) Get in shape Mentally. Get plenty of rest, drink plenty of water. Be ready to think. Be ready to push yourself mentally to look at things differently than you have ever before, say even after 40 years of riding with track experience. Come in with fresh eyes, ears, mind and heart along with a sense of humor. Be ready to have fun.
3) Recognize it’s not about you. It’s not about the bike. It’s not about Coach. It’s all about learning, understanding the physics, and working on mastering the art and the sport of motorcycling. There’s an element of ZEN about it. I’ve never been more excited, while relaxed and centered at the same time since I’ve started riding 22+ yrs ago, and I’m only getting started! Thanks to Coach. We’ll see you out there! Philip.

If you have taken the well-warranted time to check out a few of Coach Can’s prior reviews — along with his crystal clear statement right on his website — you will see he is a very intense dude. However, the intensity is not just for bravado or ego. In fact, the ones who find themselves “bothered” by Coach Can are the ones walking away with shattered egos.- Deon Pearson, Road Skill 1on1, Lake Tahoe

I just finished cornering school days 1-3, and here’s my review. Please read it very slowly because I promised a 30 minutes read to someone with a cigar. And if anything doesn’t make sense here to you — just ignore it, that’s my language barrier. About a year ago, I upgraded my old SV650 to a Tuono because my commute started to get boring. Yeah, we had commutes back then. This bike has more than twice the power, and it also comes equipped with that “be a racer” sticker. So I decided that 40 is an ideal age to start: not too old, not too young and stupid. Seriously though, I think that buying something and then using 10% of it is like throwing 90% of the money in the fire. Nobody buys a Ferrari to only drive it in the right lane. Almost nobody. So I wanted to understand a little bit better what we both can do. But more importantly, now that I have a family, I want to stay alive on the road. I want to minimize my chances of getting killed by that random turkey in a Prius without giving up the riding. In other words, I want to maximize my survival skills. I got a lot of that from these classes. I think I am a much better rider now, even though I also understand how much I suck, but that’s not the point. There is a lot of material covered in the class, let me pick some that impressed me the most. Emergency braking on day 1. This is scary to do on your own. In fact, one of my riding friends told me that you immediately go down if you lose the front, so I was scared to even try braking too hard and wanted that ABS thingie to save me. On day 1, I got the guts to disable ABS completely and did a few stoppies. Now I know where the limit is, how it feels when you’re close, and that you’re not going down unless you really insist. That’s better than insurance. It also somewhat compensates for the lack of a seat belt. And you only pay $140 for it, that’s like a sushi takeout nowadays. Counter-steering and “uber” counter-steering on day 2. Stop wrestling with the bike to lean it. Flick it from one side to another in a split second. Swerve around that turkey in a blind turn. Yeah, I guess everybody teaches this to some extent, I was told about it at CMSP, maybe not the “uber” part. But I didn’t really apply it. Now I do, and this makes my arms much happier though weaker. All this gets combined in day 3 when you counter-steer and then do emergency braking while leaning in the apex. I don’t know what can make you a safer rider if not mastering skills like this. All this gave me a great confidence boost. I’m afraid I’m over-confident now as riding feels so much easier, my speeds increased considerably too. I got rid of my chicken strips, it came as a bonus on day 1, I didn’t even realize till I came home. I didn’t try other schools, but I don’t know how anything can get better than this. Every class is 7 hours of theory and practice. There’s also a free track time after the class, still with the guidance if you ask. Coach has a keen eye, and you will be told about your mistakes straight in the face. The key to success is to bring the right attitude, you’re paying to get knowledge and experience, so focus on listening and practicing, not playing ego games, or feeling offended. Yeah, you can easily get a strong language in your direction — that’s part of the package you buy, relax and enjoy.

As a first time time rider, I just finished the Day 1 of the cornering program and I must say that it was great! I came to this course straight out of the MSF class and I learned more here than I ever could from any other safety class. Can (Coach) is a professional that understands all level of riders. He helps each person with what they’re looking for but you have to manage your expectations and respect your time here. Coach doesn’t sugar coat anything. The best way to get the most out of any experience is to be humble, have the right attitude and be passionate about learning. As a completely new rider I learned so much and will definitely take this course again!- Rebekah Schoenbach , Cornering School

This is my second review of SuperBike Coach, which I have felt compelled to write because the first 5-star review just wasn’t enough. Coach Can & company have wholeheartedly earned a full 10 stars in my eyes. How can this be, one may ask? Well after having ridden with the SBC family (and yes, it is indeed a “family”) several times across a variety of courses, I have been fortunate enough to experience a very steady stream of breakthroughs in my riding development: something many can go YEARS without ever achieving – just settling for old habits and ways. The thing is, just because those ways are old, and “you’ve always ridden this way” doesn’t mean it’s good. If it is, you would undoubtedly see that SBC isn’t working for you. What you will very likely discover is that those ways aren’t going to work for you anymore. After you’re done with your first session of smiling once you realize just what SBC can do for your riding development, you will be asking yourself the stinging question that just about every SBC student asks: why the hell didn’t I start earlier?! If you have taken the well-warranted time to check out a few of Coach Can’s prior reviews — along with his crystal clear statement right on his website — you will see he is a very intense dude. However, the intensity is not just for bravado or ego. In fact, the ones who find themselves “bothered” by Coach Can are the ones walking away with shattered egos. The fact is; motorcycling has no room for that sh*t. If you think you are the next Marc Marques, then clearly you aren’t reading this review because you’re too busy traveling the globe collecting your trophies on your way to MotoGP. However, if you are a mere mortal looking to attain the keys to unlocking your highest riding potential, then you are in the right place. Nothing worth working for is easy, and Coach will NOT coddle you into thinking you achieved something you did not. Instead, he & his team will give you the most honest feedback you will have ever received on your riding, and under their excellent breadth of knowledge, will show you the way to earning yourself a sense of modest-laced pride in your newfound abilities you will have never known you would hold. Then, when the class is over, you get to ride into the sunset of freedom with some astounding new skills and a refreshed outlook & invigoration into motorcycling. Your first stop (after the gas station perhaps) will be right back to your computer or phone charger to log onto the SBC website to sign up for your next course! And trust me, once you get the bug for quality moto-education, there’s no turning back. I have been fortunate enough to do several private 1-on-1 sessions with Coach both at the track, as well as Road Skill in my hometown in Lake Tahoe. Best times I’ve ever had on a bike – period! Now I get to look forward to many more of those moments as Coach Can has set me up for a whole world of motorcycling successes to explore. Now, listen to that little voice revving in your heart, and sign up for SBC now! Classes are pretty hard to get into these days (huge demand), so get your name on that list and get ready for an awesome time with your newest family & mentors. Trust them. Then, you can REALLY trust yourself!

After several hours on the road, both of these riders were worlds apart from the first 1 mile up the canyons. Afterward, both riders said they had never learned more in one day than they had from you. Both swear they will do this again!- David Cardinal, Road Skill 1on3, Carson City NV

A short time ago, you took me on a road riding lesson.  I’m not a Valentino Rossi or Mark Marquez, but I have believe I have a fairly high level understanding of riding.  I have taken all of your awesome classes in Stockton and have ridden more than a few track days.  I’m an B+ to A- rider on the track.  While riding more than 20 years, I have been really learning how to technically ride in the past 4-5 years.  I had not been on the road riding for a while.  I felt a bit rusty.  I’m a huge proponent of continued learning.  I thought some additional Coach time would be helpful.  What a great decision!  The main take away of how my late apex turns in blind corners were not the safest way to go were eye opening!  As you indicated, these late apex turns create a sharp turn angle with no outs.  A traditional apex gives you options and a much smoother and safer ride!  The other tips about breaking and acceleration were fabulous and now are part of my riding style. This week I had to head to Seattle for work.  I rented a BMW GS to head to my projects.  I took a side ride to the Northern Cascades mountain range for some mental health relief!  Besides the fact is was an absolutely beautiful ride, I wanted to tell you how much more I enjoyed the ride more than ever before.  Even through I prefer my BMW XR, this may have been the best street riding I have done.  Everything was so much smoother.  I know other riders have the glow feeling in the chest when everything just clicks, and I had it on that ride!  I’m still buzzing from that feeling.  I can’t believe I’m enjoying riding more than  ever, but I am! After my time with you, you took me and two others for another road ride class.  Both experienced riders, each with multiple bikes such as Ducati V4, Aprilla Tuono, R1, one with track experience.  Both race cars and dirt bikes.  We spent several hours in the parking lot.  the other riders were new to you and had not been to any classes.  Both were so thrilled with the parking lot drills, they said it would have made the day worthwhile if they never left the parking lot.  Of course, you stress the importance of using these skills on the road, so we did some mountain riding as well.  What a transformation of these riders!!  As I had done our personal day, I  was well ready for this ride.  After several hours on the road, both of these riders were worlds apart from the first 1 mile up the canyons.  Afterward, both riders said they had never learned more in one day than they had from you.  Both swear they will  do this again! I would just like to pass along to other riders, it does not matter how long you have been riding. You can get better.  Lessons are going to make you much safer.  The more I know how to ride,  the more I enjoy it.  (Plus if you ride with others, they are going to be envious of your skills!). Thanks Coach!

As for Coach, I have never met anyone so passionate about the sport and so experienced- Daniel Launza, Cornering School Day 1

I am 17 years old and I recently attended cornering school day 1 In hopes of improving my cornering skills. I wanted to learn how to corner well in hopes of becoming a better racer I have done many track days and have been coached by instructors but I have not learned nearly as much anywhere else besides this class. Coach teaches you how to really corner your bike and shows you how to get to the limit. Through Coach’s class I have gained lots of confidence on my bike and I feel a lot safer riding my bike. Overall this class was amazing and taught me so much about riding and I can’t wait to go to more of his classes. As for Coach, I have never met anyone so passionate about the sport and so experienced I recommend this class to anyone it will be one of the best decisions in your riding career.

These classes are the best thing that has happened to me since I bought my bike- Richard Young, Cornering School program

I have taken the first and second days of the four cornering classes and I am so impressed with Coach Can and his team. The classes are well organized and as a fairly new rider this is something I really needed to enhance my cornering skills. Coach Can is a previous racer and is excellent in helping to relay his vast experience to not only new riders as well as very seasoned and experienced riders. The class is structured so that the more experienced riders are grouped together and we ride in three groups with the less experienced riders watching the other groups before trying to complete the tasks coach assigns us to do. I have signed up for the third level and plan to take the 4th class as soon as possible. These classes are the best thing that has happened to me since I bought my bike. I highly recommend taking all four of these classes in the cornering section as getting proficient in cornering will save your life. There are also more advanced classes available as you gain proficiency that I plan to take after completion of the cornering. Coach Can and his team are the best!!!!

My take away from CSD 2… everything coach said.- Jeff Kim, Cornering Day 2

If you’ve read all previous reviews then there’s not much more that I can add other than that I agree with what’s been said. Here’s a tip tho… really focus on what Can is telling you to do. If he says to apex here and there then take it to heart and try your best to hit those apexes rather than simply nodding your head in class but then going back to your comfort zone on the track. With each classroom session there’s a message that Can is trying to convey. The delivery may not be conventional but the intent is pure and the accuracy is spot on. Having said that, it may take much more practice to nail it down but your job is to at least have and good understanding of what’s being asked of you. My take away from CSD 1 was gear selection. Can gave us his tip on gear selection, and although it was tough to break my comfort zone on the track I tried my best and then on the mountain curves I kept practicing and now I see the benefits and I’m a faster and smoother rider because of it. My take away from CSD 2… everything he said. The point I’m trying to make is this. If you succeed in taking away a solid understanding of what Can is teaching you and you practice it on your favorite mountain curve you will without a doubt become a faster and more confident rider, not to mention safer. Now let’s put things into perspective. How much does this class cost… like a buck and change? Is that a good deal? Well, did you do what he asked you to do or even understand or try what he wanted you to do? No? Then that’s your loss. Yes? Then that’s a fucking damn good deal in my book cuz I can assure you that you’re a better rider now. One last thing… you don’t need to ride fast to take away from this class. In fact ride at your 50% if you want. But you do need to focus on the task at hand and the speed just follows.

He asked us to walk the track and make notes of path/action/timing for each turn, to help us appreciate and gain consistency in our ride.- MJ, Track Academy

I Completed the Track academy (cornering school day) on 10/16/19. This course was the cherry on top, as it called for all the skills learned and practiced, during the past 3 cornering classes., to come together. The synthesizing skill, emphasized by coach Can Akkaya, was consistency in path, action and timing. He asked us to walk the track and make notes of path/action/timing for each turn, to help us appreciate and gain consistency in our ride. This smoothness in riding, has been transferable to my commutes, and week-end road rides. I have thoroughly enjoyed learning and practicing all the skills that coach Can has shown us. I never imagined that I can learn these skills and improvements without committing to a professional program. Coach Can is providing a great service, at a very reasonable cost. I feel lucky that I stumbled on his website and hope to continue coming back for more of his coaching. I fully recommend that every motorcycle enthusiast, that seriously enjoys riding, should come and try Coach Can Akkaya’s Superbike-coach classes. They will not be disappointed. Thank you, coach Can, for keeping us honest.

Can gives you the key to the motorcycle-riding Castle, but, it is up to you to put the key in the door, turn the lock, open the door, and walk through. You must also leave your ego and everything you thought you knew about motorcycle riding out the door.- Bryan D., Cornering School Day 1

This is, by far, the best and most comprehensive motorcycle training I’ve ever received. Before coming here, I was nervous and ready to give up motorcycles permanently. After 2 crashes, being knocked out unconscious, and multiple close calls on the road, I realized that 1) Maybe I’m a shitty rider, 2) None of the upgrades to my bike mean a damn thing and 3) maybe I’m safer giving this up since Uber and Lyft drivers drive like blind and deaf teenagers. Because of this, I thought I’d find a solution by getting training (because I’m a stubborn asshole who doesn’t believe in giving up.) Many of my colleagues have taken Coach Can’s class and have reported that many of the tools and skills taught there are not just for track use, they are some of the most important fundamentals for everyday street riding. However, going through the class will NOT make you a better rider if you do not PRACTICE THE SKILLS AT LEASE A FEW TIMES PER WEEK. Can gives you the key to the motorcycle-riding Castle, but, it is up to you to put the key in the door, turn the lock, open the door, and walk through. You must also leave your ego and everything you thought you knew about motorcycle riding out the door. Then, and only then, will you be able to forget the crap and bad habits you picked up and relearn what real riding skills are. It’s safe to say, I’m looking forward to Cornering 2 and 3. My recommendation: Before you invest in a sweet new exhaust that will likely get destroyed when you do some super dank wheelies into a Prius, save the cash and invest in something that stays with you forever. Riding skills are way more important than whatever squid loving bling you put on the bike. To Coach Can, Marian, and the team…you guys are bombdiggity!

These skills seem like a martial art for the bike rider- Majid Farmanfarmaian, Cornering School day 1-3

I completed the superbike-coach’s cornering school day 3, this past week-end (9/8/19). Again, both the class and the track practices were beyond my expectation. A full fun day of learning and practice of more advanced riding skills. Coach Can Akkaya, started the day with the review of the past 2 course skills, and answered any questions we had. After some refresher practice, we came in, and he expanded those skills by introducing additional riding methods, punctuated by track practice. These included trail braking, throttle and back brake control and braking for steering. These skills help make us safer riders on top of better / more efficient riders. The big lesson, I have taken away on this day and the previous one, is to let the bike do all the work, rather than me exerting great effort. The bike does it quicker and with more strength. These skills seem like a martial art for the bike rider. Coach Can Akkaya, teaches these skills with great enthusiasm and fun that keeps everyone engaged. But he also demands that we go out and really practice and learn the skills. He stands right on the track, looking and giving us feedback. His love and care for better riding is infectious and we all get better while having great fun. A further bonus is that Coach Can Akkaya provided a certificate of completion after these 3 courses, which may lower the bike insurance, by 15%, at some insurance companies. A still further bonus, is that Dean Lonskey takes pictures and videos of the students, while riding, free of charge. I have looked at them as a visual feedback toward improvement. As mentioned before, the cost is very reasonable for an all-day activity, and is not discouraging to take more courses or even repeat some, once or twice a month. Overall, I am very happy to have found Coach Akkaya’s Sportbike-coach school, that is allowing me to make bike riding a fun hobby, while making my daily commute safer.

Coach Can is a unique experience in a good way. He is blunt, which is hard to find, so if you have bad habits or flaws in your riding, he will let you know off the bat.- Shawn Castello, US-Air Force, Cornering Day 1

Coach Can is a unique experience in a good way. He is blunt, which is hard to find, so if you have bad habits or flaws in your riding, he will let you know off the bat. If you are getting lazy on the track or not working on the drills, he will call you out on it. Not only that, but he is also extremely knowledgeable and has an extensive background in riding, so he knows what he is talking about. He will teach you the right technique and concepts the first time around so that you can develop good habits right off the bat. Ultimately, the programs that the Superbike-Coach Corp offers is a hell of an opportunity to learn how to ride better. If you are willing to learn and work on the drills, techniques, and concepts, these guys are willing to put in a lot of time and effort into you as well.

If you think you’ve been riding 20+ years and don’t need this class, you are wrong.- Amanda Kohlfeld, Cornering Day 1

I was lucky enough to come across Superbike Coach as I was searching the internet for a birthday gift for my husband. I emailed Can about the classes (there are a lot to choose from) and what might be best for what I was looking for…I was a pain; as in, many questions, follow ups, and what abouts. He was great, I never got the feeling that I was bothering him. I ended up purchasing a gift certificate for my husband’s birthday and giving him the information so he could pick, then I was lucky enough that he wanted me to attend a class with him.
Coach was just as great in class, as are his wife and staff. I never felt like I was just a class fee, you can feel that they are genuine. Speaking of the class fee it’s almost more affordable than it should be and that should tell you something about their intentions. Especially after hearing some stories from other students about classes they took previously (for hundreds of dollars!) and who are still afraid of their bike and/or lack of skills. Anyhow…we picked the cornering class which is what had been recommended.

First thing: If you don’t want to hear about what you are doing wrong or you don’t wish for someone to pick up on your bad habits maybe you are better off not taking this class because he is going to tell you that your lines suck and he is going to call you on things you may be doing that could get you hurt. I have some bad habits, as we all do; however, I had one that I didn’t even know about. I have no idea how long I had been doing it (I might never have known) and it might have ended badly someday. Now it won’t. If I didn’t get anything else from class (and I did) I will forever be grateful.
Second: you are also going to do some drills that might be of your comfort zone, for me it was the front brake only drills, but you must trust that he isn’t ever going to ask you to do something that is of no value. The confidence I always had in dirt but never had on the street has improved by leaps and bounds mostly from the dang front brake drills I didn’t want to do. Those ABS brakes for some reason really freaked me out. It’s amazing how little things that make you uncomfortable can affect everything when you get on that bike. He’s going to help you with that.

I am going to sum up because I get long winded, but I want everyone reading this to know that I went into this class with many years on two wheels. I can’t recall a time when I couldn’t ride a motorcycle, literally. More years by far in dirt than street. It’s been almost 5 years on my street bike and since I went to DMV and got my M license…I am not a new rider is the point. SO…If you think you don’t ride well enough for this class, you are wrong. If you think you’ve been riding 20+ years and don’t need this class, you are wrong. Also, no matter where you fall on the experience spectrum there will be people in class who have more experience than you and people who have less experience than you, but NO one will care. NO one will make you feel like you shouldn’t be there. No one wants anything more than for you to be a better, safer rider including all the students so don’t talk yourself out of it or be intimidated by the course. You have nothing to lose but your life and I know that sounds so dramatic but if you are on two wheels you know I am not wrong.

Overall, the content was effective, the team was efficient, and I felt that Coach Can (in his most colorful way) truly cares about each student’s well being & betterment- Deon Pearson, Wheelie Course 6/2019

If you’ve read other online reviews about SuperBike Coach / Coach Can, you’ll surely know already that Coach has a very specific style in which he delivers information. Like the very act of motorcycling itself, his delivery method is both invigorating, occasionally scathing, with laughs paved in-between.

Invigorating in that it is a high-octane rush to your senses.
Scathing in that one mess-up will cause you some pain.
Laughs in that — regardless — this is still a ton of fun!

Just like motorcycling.

Simply put, this class (& sport) is not for the faint of heart.

First of all, the staff at SuperBike Coach is an air-tight, well-oiled machine. These guys are extremely fervent about the topics they teach, and the tools they provide to give you success. They are all very knowledgeable in their field, and despite their somewhat militant demeanor, are in-fact very caring about your success and well-being. Never did I feel like I couldn’t ask a question I needed answered. While certain questions might earn you a touch of ridicule from Coach, he will still answer them, and always with a smile placed neatly between the lines of the answer.

My first class with SBC was the Wheelie Course. The class of approx. 30 students was divided into 3 color groups, which rotated constantly between one of 3 stations:

1. Practice Wheelie Tools: a high-torque mini bike & an SV650 affixed to an angled stand; each of which independently focus on specific progression steps of the various “moments” of a wheelie. The former works on the initiation of the wheelie, and the latter focuses on “floating” the wheelie. These are great simulation tools (especially the SV650, which was SUPER fun and really had me feeling like I was floating on air).

2. Track Time: a short course partitioned into segments where you can use your own bike (or a rental bike from the company for an extra fee) to practice various steps to achieve a real-world wheelie.

3. Rest Area: which on a 100-degree day in the California sun, you WILL DEFINITELY need. Ample amounts of cold bottled water are provided for everyone, so drink up!!

This system of rotating the various stations is very well thought-out, and executed efficiently for time by the SBC team. Everyone received equal time, albeit in different patterns than the other color teams, that ultimately got my beginner butt understanding and applying the basics of a wheelie by the end of the day. While there is no guarantee that every single student will be popping nooners by the end of the class, you will most certainly be on your merry way to doing so. I guarantee you’ll walk away much more empowered with knowledge as to how to better control your bike, and have some great tools to work with outside of the class on your own.

Overall, the content was effective, the team was efficient, and I felt that Coach Can (in his most colorful way) truly cares about each student’s well being & betterment (even if some students didn’t care so much for him). The company’s cardinal rule is: Safety, Fun & Success…in that order. THAT is a winning formula in my book! Never once did I feel unsafe; the staff’s adamant nature of focus made sure of that!

SBC offers many classes for all levels of riders, with tons of focus on various aspects of the righteous art of ripping on two-wheels! Their content is thorough, and I look forward to learning as much as I can.

One thing I took away from the experience that was so powerful was not necessarily from Coach, but from the other students (while cooling off slamming water in the rest area). In chatting with my Moto-colleagues, upon mentioning that I was a beginner on his first season of motorcycling, the others stated how much THEY had wished they had started learning this content so much earlier. It seems that’s the one common regret some of the veterans have. It’s proven that unlearning a bad habit takes SOOOO much more time than learning a good one from the get-go. This is something I’m fortunate not to have to say, and other seasoned riders strongly confirmed: learning the best techniques (or ironing out the bad ones) as early-on as possible.

And I am certain that SBC is the place to do just that.

My next classes I’ve already signed up for are the Cornering Classes, which I’m sure will be two of many more to come in the future.

I think Coach’s nickname should be Coach “Yes You” Can: so long as you can take an ego bruising, pay close attention, and know how to shake off any small failures & get your ass back in the saddle.

Just like motorcycling. ;-)

I cannot put into words how much I recommend ALL riders no matter what skill level, age or gender, how important it is for you to take superbike coaches classes.- Noel Cormack, Cornering School Day 1

I cannot thank you enough for everything. I want to say thank you to Coach Can, his wife and the staff for everything you provided. I took the cornering day 1 class and it was awesome. I’ve been riding for years and learned so much in just one day. I will be back for several more classes and look forward to seeing the whole team again. I cannot put into words how much I recommend ALL riders no matter what skill level, age or gender, how important it is for you to take superbike coaches classes. It will absolutely make you a better rider and may save your life. I promise you will take a lot away from the classes. Thank you again to the whole super bike coach team for your time and professionalism. You have a customer and a friend for life.

My interest in attending the Body Positioning class was to try and get more comfortable with the hanging off style. The Little 99 is the perfect place to practice this.- John D., Body Positioning Class 2019

I’m an old rider with the ‘crossed-up’ style deeply embedded in my riding. My interest in attending the Body Positioning class was to try and get more comfortable with the hanging off style.  The Little 99 is the perfect place to practice this.  Trust me, I’m fully aware that at the end of the day I am a guy who rides a desk and has Monday’s to get back to work, so body positioning is somewhat frivolous.  That said, I appreciate your approach and the information provided. I have a lot to work on including, set up before the corner, proper sighting, positioning, sliding the butt rather than lifting when transitioning, and the list goes on and on and on…  Again, you have provided specific things to be mindful of and improve upon. I also have to admit that I tend to become “that guy” who doesn’t allow proper gap.  I try to let the gaps open and maintain the space, but inevitably I end up crowding.  I will try to work on this, too next time I join your class.  Mostly just wanted to say thanks again for another great day!  I was bummed that you didn’t have Thunderhill trackdays on the schedule this year.  Riding THill West with you guys was one of my most fun days ever.  Perhaps someday I can join one of your track drill days.  That’s it for now.  Thanks to you, Marion, and  Dean for all you do.  (I always tip Dean!  I hope others do, too).

He might appear to be loud mouthed, but I would disagree. I feel that he really wants you to succeed and probably hates to see you fail. This could come out as him being a jerk or going too hard on you.- Varun Kumar, Cornering School program (copied from his Google review)

I had attended Cornering Day 1 & Cornering Day 2 classes in early 2019. I would consider myself to be an adept daily commuter and a beginner track rider, with around 1.5 years or 8000 miles of crash free riding prior to attending the classes. My ride is a ’17 FZ-07. Prior to taking classes with Superbike Coach, I had attended Beginner and Intermediate safety classes and track day events. Review: Coach Can and Team are awesome! In my opinion, the program is underrated and definitely deserves more than 5 stars, but alas google only allows 5/5. Coach is very passionate about teaching and high performance motorcycle riding. His approach is highly practical that seems to be derived from his experiences and lessons learnt as a pro racer. I confidently endorse that keeping an open mind and paying attention during his class lectures and trying to apply it during practice will get you positive results by end of class. He might appear to be loud mouthed, but I would disagree. I feel that he really wants you to succeed and probably hates to see you fail. This could come out as him being a jerk or going too hard on you. After cornering day two, I had eliminated all my chicken strips, started scrapping my pegs and toe sliders (Had never happened before) and had started pushing my bike to its limits. I could feel my overall lap time had noticeably reduced and my confidence level boosted to a all time high. I have signed up for future classes and see myself being as a returning client to super-bike coach for a long time.
Some other points that might be useful info for newcomers: Little 99 Raceway at Stockton, CA is typically where Cornering Day classes happen. Its essentially a Go Kart Track. However, it is full of medium and low speed corners that are excellent to learn and master the art of cornering on two wheels – with Coach Can’s help. This track is most fun with smaller displacement motorcycles, however students bring all sorts of
Choppers, Touring Rigs, Adventure Bikes, Supermotard, Superbikes etc., This cornering class is customized to make you a better rider irrespective of what you ride, encompassing various aspects of motorcycling – accelerating, gearing, breaking, cornering etc. to name a few. This is not a typical track day style event. This is a top of the line, high performance riding program.

Riding with Coach immediately got the adrenaline flowing and the brain engaged!- Rob Morton, Track Drill 1on2, Sonoma Raceway

My track riding buddy and I hired Coach for a 2 on 1 training session at Sonoma on 2/23/19.  It was early season, the track was cold, it was mostly cloudy and neither of us really felt like it was going to be a great day – Boy, were we wrong!  Riding with Coach immediately got the adrenaline flowing and the brain engaged!  Riding the track is physical, for sure, but to go fast, smoothly and safely, demands as much from the  brain as the body.  Coach made us engage mentally to really think about what we were doing, and not doing, on the track.  He helped us determine track markers for throttle, braking, lean in, body position, shifting, etc, and he showed us how to use these markers as a way to improve confidence, speed and comfort.  Coach helped us identify different lines through the corners, think about moving the apexes either forward or back to support entry or exit speed and shared methods to maintain higher corner speeds.  Double apexing the carousel probably dropped two seconds a lap alone.  I’ve been a racer and rider for 40 years and never felt as confident trail braking as I did after one day with Coach!  He is extremely knowledgeable and is able to share his wisdom without ego or bravado, explaining why my way wasn’t the best and why his way works better – and it does.  I strongly recommend anyone with a desire to ride better, more confidently, more knowledgeably, more safely and, yes, faster, to spend a day or two with Coach.  It is well worth it!

By Can first observing our individual riding techniques early on, and then focusing on particular tasks he would want us to engage on the following sessions- Zeki Abed, Track Drill 1on2, Sonoma Raceway

It was a brisky 38 degree day at Sonoma, but that didn’t prevent  us two determined students and a willing instructor from accomplishing our goals. Can was straightforward, succinct and focused on first clarifying his expectations and procedure. The instruction was very educational and we learned a lot. By Can first observing our individual riding techniques early on, and then focusing on particular tasks he would want us to engage on the following sessions. The instruction was very enlightening and Can pointed out many areas in our on-track behavior that we could work on.  It was a lot of information to absorb, especially on such a cold Day with many riders going down,  on the slippery, cold track. We did however, by the end of the day,  able to apply some of our learned skills in an effective way. Overall it was a great experience and very educational. I learned a lot about my riding style, and took away a lot of useful. Information and some new skills that I will definitely practice on and apply on my upcoming track days, to make me a better, safer, more effective rider. Thank you, Can for a great experience.

I had done around 30 or so track days in the last 2 years and have about 25 years of street and dirt riding under my belt. I definitely felt recently as if I had hit a plateau in my skill level- Don C., Track Drill 1on3, Buttonwillow Raceway

Had a great 3 on 1 coaching day with Coach Can today at Buttonwillow Raceway Park. I had done around 30 or so track days in the last 2 years and have about 25 years of street and dirt riding under my belt. I definitely felt recently as if I had hit a plateau in my skill level and I was craving some formal evaluation and instruction to take things to the next level(s). Coach helped me understand the correct way to approach track riding one step at a time and gave me plenty of techniques to work on, both during our training day and for future track days. I picked up more valuable information in one day with Coach Can than the last two years of trying to figure it out myself. I only wish I had know about him sooner. Looking forward to more training for sure. If he was local to SoCal I’d be training with him all the time. Looks like I’ll be doing some regular trips up North for more. Coach, thanks for your straightforward approach, it was a pleasure.

Coach Can was the man! If you listen closely to his clear instructions, you’ll be Wheeling in no time and with confidence- Jimmy T., Wheelie Course

I have been riding motorcycles for over 40 plus years and currently have 6 bikes of all types and brands. Early this year I coordinated with 6 of my riding buddies and signed up for a wheelie class in October 2018. The coach, his wife and his team were very enthusiastic and accommodating. I have never been able to hold up my front wheel in the air for such a long period of time! Coach Can was the man! If you listen closely to his clear instructions, you’ll be Wheeling in no time and with confidence! We had a blast! Thanks Coach!!

I was very nervous but he talked me through everything as we rode . He’s very calming and has a tremendous amount of experience- Melody Sanchez, Road Skill 1on1

I recently got my M1 and needed more practice to get more comfortable riding . I took the one on one course with Coach Can and it was the best thing I ever did! I was very nervous but he talked me through everything as we rode . He’s very calming and has a tremendous amount of experience. I learned so much and feel more confident now! I’m definitely going to take more courses with his company and will bring my husband and cousin too. It doesn’t matter what skill level your at , there’s always so much to learn or if you want to sharpen your skills as well. Thanks Coach!

Coach is like anesthetist for riders. He knows how to inject riding skills in small doses without getting someone killed.- Thiruvalar Selvan, Cornering program and track days

Why Enroll? Skill, Courage, Commitment etc. differ from person to person,So, I cannot learn from watching a video of someone else riding. I enrolled for Cornering School Days 1 and 2 in a quest to find something that will alleviate my cornering anxieties which I get at times. It’s not fear, I still rode/ride those corners for many many years… It’s a kind of self awareness that I’m missing some pieces of skill set and it’s a risk which I need to mitigate. I can only say, I could see the problem amplified as I moved up from small motorcycles in India to bigger ones in other countries and in US.
Track: There cannot be a better track than Little 99 Raceway to learn and practice.
Yes. It is small a mile long track. But, just the right size with a blend of all types of corners.
Coach: Pragmatic, confident and witty.
He is like anesthetist for riders. He knows how to inject riding skills in small doses without getting someone killed.
Coaching: It’s more like unlocking one door at a time to a grander view.
Cause and Effect style of teaching/learning.
Thank you Coach…

Headcoach Can Akkaya is one of the best course instructors and coaches I’ve ever had.- Danny Hao (on Yelp), Cornering School Day 1

Headcoach Can Akkaya is one of the best course instructors and coaches I’ve ever had. That’s saying a lot, coming from a background of an AASI/PSIA Certified Snowsports Instructor. A general overview: Coach Can is a no BS kind of guy. He won’t bore you to death with PowerPoint slides – he checks in with YOU to make sure that you are not only listening, but understanding what he is saying. He addresses not just what happens on the motorbike, but the other chatter you hear from “experts” on the internet. He shows you when the rubber hits the road, how to not only get your moto I the right place – he gets your brain working correctly as well! Coach runs a tight ship with his team, which includes his lovely wife Marion who runs logistics, and his photographer Dean, who gets awesome photos out to the group at every event!

Coach Can Akkaya the principle instructor and former international racer has a no-nonsense drill instructor approach to teach the students. “Did you understand me?” Yes coach sir! The coach obviously understands how to get the best out of yourself and understands the needs.- Bill Jepson, Cornering School Day 1

I’m an older sport bike rider and former armature racer. I attended the Superbike-coach cornering class (1) to get more in tune with my newest bike. the class takes place at the little 99 racetrack in Stockton. The course is a tight and technical small track, also a Karting venue. The track is tight enough to prevent insane speeds but fast enough to truly test your skills. Coach Can Akkaya the principle instructor and former international racer has a no-nonsense drill instructor approach to teach the students. “Did you understand me?” Yes coach sir! The coach obviously understands how to get the best out of yourself and understands the needs. His instruction had me in a higher gear where maximum power won’t help you get the feel of the track. Using the instructed technique I was quickly able to both push hard in the tight turns and focus on the proper line, making you both smoother and faster. Can is obviously a good rider, but most important works hard to pass along his knowledge along with a bit of showman flare. The class was useful to even a veteran rider (me) and helpful in getting me back to a reasonable speed and smoothing out my lines by the end of the day. At the very least you will leave the class understanding where and how you are blowing your cornering line and getting started correcting it. Looking forward to attending class 2 as soon as time permits. Recommended!

Working with coach has made me realize this can be a real sport, you can transform a beloved hobby into a lifestyle.- Alexandra Schwarz, Cornering School program

My time with coach Can has improved my riding skills more in 3 months than in the 9 years I have been riding. Nothing can compare to the technical improvement you gain from Coach Can’s classes. He offers a variety of courses each providing a different window to the riding experience. Working with coach has made me realize this can be a real sport, you can transform a beloved hobby into a lifestyle. I appreciate my motorcycle even more than I ever imagined.

I’ve attended two wheelie schools in Cali but Superbike-Coach is hands down the way to go. Highly recommend…- Richard C., Wheelie Course 7/29/2018

Their super-moto bikes with the wheelie bar are also a phenomenal tool for teaching with no risk of looping out. While the class was about 30 people, it was a very fast pace and great individual instruction is nicely blended in.- Frank Alley, Wheelie Course 7/29/2018

I just attended the wheelie class (7/29) and it was really fantastic. They have a bike on a trailer setup as a wheelie machine that really helps to work on your body position while in no danger of crashing. It also helps develop the proper technique at getting the front wheel up, even though it is already way up. Their super-moto bikes with the wheelie bar are also a phenomenal tool for teaching with no risk of looping out. While the class was about 30 people, it was a very fast pace and great individual instruction is nicely blended in. I’m going to be signing up for a cornering class in the near future.

The “uber counter steering” (a term coined by Coach Can for the lack of a better one) was totally new to me and a little tricky, but in the free track time after the class I practiced a bit and got better.- Michelle Tilley, Cornering School 1 and 2

I’ve attended three of Coach Can’s classes now: Cornering School Day 1, Day 2, and the Wheelie Course. (The Wheelie Course was great, but I’ll focus on Cornering School for this review.) Coach Can is an interesting person. Almost everyone seems to have a fairly polarized view of him right off the bat — a “love him or hate him” sort of thing. Some find him a little difficult or over the top, and I’ll admit to being in that category at first, but I found he grew on me quite quickly. But no matter what you think about his personality, put your ego aside and listen to what he has to teach, because the man knows his shit, and if you don’t believe it, you’ll change your mind the first time you see him on the track. When you’re as good as he is, you earn the right to brag a little. :) (Plus, he’s actually a super nice guy. Just don’t be a dick and listen to his instruction.) To give you an idea of where I started, I took Cornering School Day 1 when I’d been riding for just under a year and a half; I had around 20,000 miles under me at the time. I was a fairly confident street rider on my FZ-07, but wasn’t super confident in the twisties — I was okay, but I’d been down a couple of times, and I found I was unable to regain the confidence I’d lost. Cornering School Day 1 helped me a lot. If you look at the course curriculum for Cornering School, a lot of it looks familiar if you’ve taken an MSF class or something similar, but Can cuts through a lot of the BS and lays things out differently, and I found practicing them on the track made a big difference. At one point during the day, just after lunch while practicing lines, something “clicked” and I found myself traversing the track much faster and with more confidence. It felt fantastic — all of a sudden the price of admission was well worth it. During a canyon ride my roommate and I took a few days later, we talked about applying the things we learned and saw a noticeable difference in our confidence and, as a result, in our riding. Fast forward about seven months and ~10,000 miles to Cornering School Day 2. The first time around the track, I could tell that the things I’d learned in Day 1 and had practiced since had stuck, for the most part, but I was eager to push forward. Again, Coach Can took things I thought I already understood (like counter steering) and challenged our understanding of them, and letting go of what we thought we knew to make room for new ideas made another big difference. The “uber counter steering” (a term coined by Coach Can for the lack of a better one) was totally new to me and a little tricky, but in the free track time after the class I practiced a bit and got better. At first, Day 2 felt less “game changing” than Day 1 did for me, but on the way home (riding through the twisties) my roommate reminded me of a few things and I realized I’d been riding a bit lazily. I started to apply each of the things we learned, and I was surprised to notice just how much it helped, right off the bat in the middle of a ride; it felt like riding a different bike. The techniques work. All in all, I *definitely* feel like Cornering School is *well* worth the price of admission, just for the skills you learn and the time you get to practice on a track with Coach Can. He didn’t teach me to “be fast,” he taught me how to connect better with my bike and to have more confidence — and that in turn translated into speed. But, in addition to all that, Dean Lonskey is there taking a couple thousand pictures each day, which are made available to everyone for free. A camera may add ten pounds, but it also adds five degrees of lean angle. His photos look great. If you can make it out to Stockton, CA for one of Coach Can’s classes, I definitely recommend it. It’s made a massive difference in my riding.

Thank you, thank you, thank you, Coach Can! #36 for life! I will be at both track days this year and CSD1-4 again- Adelle Knight, Cornering 1on3

After taking Coach’s Cornering School Days 1-4 , I upgraded from my beginner bike to a bigger, faster bike and decided Coach needs to teach me how to ride this one too. I went to Coach Can for a 3 on 1 with two of my best friends on Little 99 in Stockton. I came away, once again, far more confident and comfortable on my bike and in riding in general. It was a fantastic day and Coach treated us like friends/family and not just students/clients. Can’t recommend this guy enough! Thank you, thank you, thank you, Coach Can! #36 for life! I will be at both track days this year and CSD1-4 again because, hey…you can never learn enough or get enough practice.

As usual, the class was well structured and allowed plenty of track time for the riders. Coach was there with his signature direct style with lots of laughs.- Steven Neil, Knee Down class

This was my third class with Coach Can. I’ve done the cornering school day 1 & 2. This time it was knee down. My goal was to get more comfortable with the capabilities of the bike and if the stars aligned, I’d get the knee down. As usual, the class was well structured and allowed plenty of track time for the riders. Coach was there with his signature direct style with lots of laughs. By the end of the day, I was physically and mentally spent. I came away with a greater awareness of what the bike can do as well as honing my own skills. There is still one thing I need to do so I will will return. If you have not yet worked with Coach, you’ree missing out. Sign up for a class and have some fun. I’m looking forward to the Thunderhill track day in June.

Coach is not perfect but he is one of the best and most caring in the business. Most won’t appreciate coach until you ride in his boots as an instructor, racer, and friend.- James R., Cornering School program 1-3

(REPLY to Coach’s blog article ‘A Sensei has to be old‘) Is coach old? No he is track and motorcycle mature. The question is not about the coaches age or speed, Angelo Dundee trained Ali to be a great fighter while being older than him, and cus’d’amato  taught Mike Tyson at a mature age, neither of those coaches step in a ring at mature age to fight. Both boxer are the best in the world. No one else offers what coach offers in the Northern California at the prices he offer them for nor with the experience he brings to the table. Coach is not perfect but he is one of the best and most caring in the business. Most won’t appreciate coach until you ride in his boots as an instructor, racer, and friend. Coach let them know if they don’t like what you have to offer, they have more than focus problem. They should have a Coke and a smile or a can of go sit there ass down somewhere else. Luv ya Coach

OH.MY.GOD!!!! look no further for an amazing coach or class that you want to take. THIS IS THE PLACE YOU NEED TO BE!!!- Elaina Pitre , Cornering School Day 1

OH.MY.GOD!!!! look no further for an amazing coach or class that you want to take. THIS IS THE PLACE YOU NEED TO BE!!! I did my research and wanted to improve my skills as a rider. Anyone can go in a straight line but I felt I need better skills, breaking, and cornering. I had my first crash in a corner and I knew I needed Can to help me. So, my husband and I took Can’s cornering class Day 1. After lunch I booked us Day 2 and my husband booked Day 3 for us. You will learn. You learn the basics and the fundamentals which I needed. I need a good strong foundation which he has giving me to build on to become a better rider. Check your ego at the door and be ready to learn. Can is a professional racer and he knows his shit. Everything you’ve learned from other places, leave that in the parking lot. They break you into 3 groups and you get lots of track time. Can took away a lot of my fears and I cant wait to do more classes with him. Everyone is super nice and you’ll become friends with the other riders. But be there to learn and not screw around or you will go home. You need to come do this. Oh and the photos are FREE…….WTF…….AMAZEBALLS!!!!

I’ve already booked another class a testament to the experience- Bob Schulz, Cornering School Day 1

Lessons well learned , is a good way to start w my review, Can’s no nonsense approach to riding is refreshing . Seriousness mixed in with examples and a few jokes help keep the lesson animated. Getting put into 3 groups helps keep the beginner jitters from overpowering the learning experience, and his simple to understand tips with instruction help define your learning experience. These classes have helped me show noticeable improvement from session to session along w a desire to want to ride more. The gokart/supermoto  track gives u a 13 corner repeat session in less than a minute so you have an opportunity to put each class lesson into a real life situation. An interesting point is ur never alone there even the students are engaging w each other telling stories ect . I’ve already booked another class a testament to the experience

The experience, the professionalism and sage like wisdom he threw at me was great.- Geoff Lee, Supermoto 1on1

Can (Coach)…is truly eccentric – in all the best ways. I had the pleasure of taking the 1on1 Supermoto class. My first time on a Supermoto bike, and I am hooked! The experience, the professionalism and sage like wisdom he threw at me was great. Exactly what i needed, and will be back time and time again to gain more knowledge from the school, the classes…and the “Coach”. I still have a grin from ear to ear from the time on the track. Take the course, rip it up, and enjoy all that is offered.

I wish I had spent the money sooner! Coach approaches his curriculum with passion and experience, his instruction gives you the tools to correct the issues he identifies as he pays close attention to you and your riding- Dion Campell, Cornering 1on2

I took part in a 1on2 private session which was the first time I had ridden in over 8 months after having been injured in an accident. The day was awesome, the attention I received from coach got me back into the swing of things and heading in the right direction. I have attended professional driver training before but never professional rider training although it  was on my list. I wish I had spent the money sooner! Coach approaches his curriculum with passion and experience, his instruction gives you the tools to correct the issues he identifies as he pays close attention to you and your riding. I like the teaching style, it worked for me, was like a day with good friends. I will train with Superbike-Coach again and am signed up for a number of classes and the June track day.

Between each classroom lecture – all of which were detailed and interactive- there was plenty of track time for practicing the skills being introduced.- Melissa C., Cornering School

I took Cornering Day 1 and Day 2 last summer/fall, and just finished Cornering Day 1 again on 11/5/17 as a refresher. I’m so glad I went! I got a deeper understanding of the skills introduced the first time, and more one-on-one time with Coach Can. Between each classroom lecture – all of which were detailed and interactive- there was plenty of track time for practicing the skills being introduced. Coach Can and his associates (Ben, Deane, and the lovely Marianne) gave input for little tweaks on my riding here and there, making it possible for me to really dig in and hone new skills. Coach Can is direct, amiable, and a no-nonsense instructor. That means he’s brutally honest (trust me, you NEED this in a Coach!) and he knows how to motivate you to do your best. He shows up with high energy and a wealth of valuable lessons to share, so don’t come to his classes if you aren’t ready to listen, learn and have fun! That goes for riders of all flavors: sportbikes, cruisers, dual-sport, Harley’s… whatever you ride, Coach has something to teach you.

Coach is not interested in a discussion, argument, or excuses from you unless you are Rossi or Marquez.- Suvarshi B., Cornering School Day 1

The most counterintuitive thing I learnt “sometimes you have to go slow to go fast”: a slower entry speed which lets you hit a a good line, is better than a faster entry speed and random lines. Thinking about how your lines connect from the next corner, to the corner beyond, makes you a better rider. It’s all connecting curves to curves. Also I got an appreciation, from Coach Can’s stories, of the level of focus motoGP riders must attain. It’s a few orders of magnitude beyond the level of focus at my day-job (not being hyperbolic). A word about coach: he is not interested in a discussion, argument, or excuses from you unless you are Rossi or Marquez. He’s got a class to run. Internalize his suggestions, try it out; else he will make sure you “feel it”. I don’t know what that means but let me know if you find out ;-)

I put your clear unambiguous messages and practice sessions to work right away. Especially the part about facing demons.- John D., Cornering School Day 1

Coach Can – thank you for the great day at the cornering class yesterday. I put your clear unambiguous messages and practice sessions to work right away. Especially the part about facing demons. Riding back to the South Bay last night was a totally different experience from the ride up to Stockton – it was dark, cold and traffic was very heavy. Your talk on addressing fears was timely – I respected but did not succumb to my dread of riding in the dark, my nose led the way, and that bright green line (mine’s green, not yellow) pulled me safely home.

I’ve nothing but good things to say. This class reminded me that after 12 years i still have so much to learn about riding.- Ryan J., Cornering School Day 1

I’ve nothing but good things to say. This class reminded me that after 12 years i still have so much to learn about riding. Every exercise is preceded by an explanation of the theories and purpose. After each lecture section, your time on the track feels like a new experience, and you have a clear goal and focus of each lap. I’m not ashamed to say that i May have been the slowest around the track, but by the last few laps, i had a line that i felt confident about, Knew my turn in points and what speeds felt comfortable, as well as where to look and where to place myself for the next turn. The environment is casual and you’ll make friends, but at the same time, everyone is there to improve and everyone is focused. Can and his whole team are all funny, personable, and incredibly experienced. I can’t recommend this class enough. I’ll definitely be practicing and return for level 2

Coach Can smiles and jokes but demands your full focus and accepts no BS. He’s direct and expects you to absorb what he says. If your eyes glaze over as he talks, he’ll know, he’ll bust you, and you might find yourself doing push-ups!- Eric Pederson, Cornering School Day 1

Cornering Day 1? That was a lot of fun. I’ll be back for Day 2. I did the SuperBike Coach’s Cornering Day 1 at the Little 99 Raceway at the Stockton Fairgrounds. Since my bike needed some work, I rented a school bike, which was a Ninja 250, nicely set-up and with sticky (“race”) tires. The class turned out to be the most fun I have had in a good while – and I have a lot of fun. I arrived at the small and tight race track to find myself among a broad cross section of motorcyclists and bikes, which included a handful of women, bikes with from 20 to 200 HP, supersport bikes and Harleys. Don’t underestimate the women or the riders on Harleys, or the combination. The Coach has an interesting technique of setting the tone and getting the students to focus on their riding. Coach Can smiles and jokes but demands your full focus and accepts no BS. He’s direct and expects you to absorb what he says. If your eyes glaze over as he talks, he’ll know, he’ll bust you, and you might find yourself doing push-ups! If anything, this is a lesson in itself. You need to control your attention and your mind if you want to ride a motorcycle well, fast, or safely. Focus is key. We were split into three groups, A, B, & C, which the coach decided based on information given to him at the start of class. Like everything else, your group assignment is not negotiable any more than you can haggle with the track about how sharp a turn is. I was put into the A group, which seemed a real stretch – but I believe Coach Can felt that the small bike gave me an advantage on the tight track. It probably did. The track is small and relatively low speed. It was configured with a couple tight and tricky corners for Cornering Day 1. This seemed ideal for what we were trying to learn, Corner entry speeds were never very high, and with lower speeds and some very tight turns, the focus on cornering technique was prominent. There was a single place designated for passing via a track shortcut, and that was inherently a safe place to do it. The day consisted of alternating riding laps in our groups and getting instruction from Coach. The instructions themselves were very digestible: one new focus for each lapping session. Progression – improvement – was dependent upon how well you absorbed simple instruction. But then that’s the trick, isn’t it? It’s in the doing. Books and PhD thesis cannot turn fast laps. Everyone rides and progresses at the pace they are ready for, and no faster. The coach and the class, seemed built around this reality. It’s worth mentioning that a class rule was to respect each other, and it worked that way 100% in my class. Everyone treated each other with respect, both on and off the track, and a few new friendships were probably started. So how were my results? On the nimble Ninja 250 I was clearly the slowest rider in the “A” group, though not by nearly as much at the end of class. I got faster. I got much better on the slowest section of track, though I never got things right for an entire lap. The lessons were clear and simple but powerful. I got immediate improvements in my riding. Better still, I can now see how much more possibility there is – for me – for any rider. It’s an exciting horizon. I’ll work on what I learned enthusiastically. Then I’ll go back for Day 2. Is this class for you? I would say there are two factors: first, whether you have taken a course like this before – though even if you have, this class is only likely to make you better. The second factor would whether you can check your ego, and take direct feedback. But that’s worth doing anyway, and how else will you improve? Did I mention how much fun this all was? I highly recommend the class. Some Details: How was that little rental Ninja 250 on the track? I weigh 220 lbs, so it was a rather small bike for my size, and I had to keep the revs pegged. Still it worked well, and it was probably easier to learn on the little Ninja than on my literbike. The little Ninja was also insane fun, even when I rode it poorly. I was pushing the bike, not vice-versa. But I’ll bring my VTR1000 next time, since it makes sense to learn these things on the bike you normally ride. Things which I thought could have been better? I struggled a bit to understand the Coach’s recommended lines through the corners – it would have been nice if they had been drawn out on a piece of paper I could study, rather on the chalkboard. It might have been more obvious to others – I had never considered the idea of a late apex before. I’m not sure I know all the right lines now, but the class has got me started on the journey to find them.

Coach at his best. It’s amazing how he can push you.- Max from San Francisco, Wheelie Course 2017

Coach at his best. It’s amazing how he can push you. This is the third time I’ve done the wheelie course, as there’s so much to learn. The first time, I got over my fear of the front end coming up. The second time, I learned to get the front higher and stay up there for a bit. At the end of this day, I was wheelying down the entire straight with the wheel so high I could barely look over it! The environment is just so hands-on. Practice practice practice. The coaches have a rigorous schedule so you’re always busy on the big track on your own bike, practicing on the mini bike, or getting used to the feeling of weightlessness on the wheelie machine, which is a bike that’s fixed to be at a 45 degree angle. This last one is a great innovation that I’ve never seen, to get you used to the feeling of being “up there”. After being on that thing for a few minutes, I immediately was able to wheelie much longer, just because I lost some of the fear of that feeling of weightlessness. I think that at the end of the day, almost everybody in the class got their front wheels lifted, some more than others. A few people where also going down the entire straight with their wheel up! Most people where somewhere in between, of course, from small hops to pretty impressive. Everybody had a great time. What’s impressive as well is how Coach can pin-point your weaknesses when he does 1on1 training with you. He gives you a helmet headset while you ride down the track, and he’ll tell you exactly what you’re doing wrong, and how to fix it. Immediate feedback, helped me a lot. The only feedback I have: please create a Wheelie Level 2 course, Coach! I can’t wait to learn even more.

Coach’s supermotard and wire up their helmets to hear Coach Can’s feedback as they take a few laps with one-on-one coaching.- Joe Brenetson, Wheelie Course

This was exactly the kind of class I was hoping it would be. Coach and his awesome team gave me lots of practice time and feedback and by the end of the day I was holding wheelies consistently and having a BLAST doing it! At registration, we each got colored wristbands to indicate which group we were in and made our lunch orders (catered, pizza/salad/sandwich). After doing a walk through of the track and stations, coach explained the flow of the three groups and how we would rotate. Station one is a small pit-bike on a short runway where you can practice popping the clutch to get the front to come up, and get a feel for how to keep your wheelies “steady” by controlling the throttle. It was a fun and low-stakes way to pop up the bike because if you go too far you can just stand up–the bike isn’t going to throw you, you’re going to throw it. Station two is the wheelie machine, a supermotard on a dyno-looking stand propped up at a 45 degree angle. You sit on it and learn proper body positioning and how to pull on the bars as you crank the throttle to get the front end to lift. The front wheel is tied to a bungee so you can’t loop the bike as you learn the balance point. The coach for this station, was really enthusiastic and celebrated with me when I finally got it right. Station three is the track! This is where you ride in a loop around a large-ish oval and get to attempt wheelies freely for a solid block of time with feedback on every lap. Students are eventually selected to hop on the Coach’s supermotard and wire up their helmets to hear Coach Can’s feedback as they take a few laps with one-on-one coaching. I liked this bike because it had low end torque and could pop up easily. This was the meat of the class, getting as many tries as I needed to get comfortable and consistent wheelies. Coach Can is very tough on his students but has a great attitude so if you are a sensitive snowflake you might be in the wrong place but if you TRUST him and TRUST yourself you will have a great time and find success! Every part of the coaching team makes teaching you how to wheelie their PERSONAL RESPONSIBILITY and that is what impressed me the most. I will be back with friends!

Coach just knew when to push it, when to let it go, when to explain and just to let me practice going on my own pace. Thank you Coach, you’re the BEST!- Elena Gyryk, Knee Down class

Oh man, what a day. Coach Can put the widest smile on my face and guess why – I dragged my knee for the first time! I came to Knee Down class couldn’t even get my butt of the bike and at the end of it I dragged my knee! Still can’t believe it, if felt so f**king amazing. Coach just knew when to push it, when to let it go, when to explain and just to let me practice going on my own pace. Thank you Coach, you’re the BEST!

It was all about being in the right environment and with coach, will be returning for more classes.- Rick Merchant, Knee Down class

Took the knee down class several weeks ago. Never thought it would happen, but after the 1st occurrence in the morning, it was happening more regularly in the afternoon session. It was all about being in the right environment and with coach, will be returning for more classes.

I’ve had a bit of MC training and it has all been valuable. Can takes it to another level.- Steven Neil, Cornering School Day 1

I did cornering school, day one, this past weekend. I wasn’t really sure what to expect. I’ve had a bit of MC training and it has all been valuable. Can takes it to another level. His passionate teaching style and the repetitive nature of the track makes it a memorable day. It was my first time on a track and I was not disappointed. I came away with more skill and confidence. And we all had plenty of laughs. The day was run right on time and there was even extra track time at the end of the day with Can for those who wanted additional training. You could not do better than to spend a few bucks to take this class. I’ve already signed up for cornering day 2 and the knee down class. Can’t wait. Just do it!

The focus of the Day 2 class is counter-steering and after 20+ years of commuting and touring I found my counter-steering was horrible and nearly non-existent. The drills were invaluable in highlighting areas I need to improve in. Best of all, just getting dedicated time on the Little 99 track and running the drills gave me more confidence in handling my new bike.- Wendell Joyner, Cornering School Day 2

I recently completed the Day 2 Cornering Class (I took the Day 1 Cornering Class a couple of months ago) and it was worth every penny. Although I took the Day 1 class on a smaller bike, a recent new bike purchase found me on a larger sport touring bike for the Day 2 class. I can personally attest to the usefulness of Coach Can’s courses no matter what kind of bike you ride. The focus of the Day 2 class is counter-steering and after 20+ years of commuting and touring I found my counter-steering was horrible and nearly non-existent. The drills were invaluable in highlighting areas I need to improve in. Best of all, just getting dedicated time on the Little 99 track and running the drills gave me more confidence in handling my new bike. I highly recommend Coach Can’s courses to anyone, new rider or experienced, looking to improve their skills.

This was my first time riding and he made the lesson comfortable and fun! I walked away with beginning knowledge; and a desire to learn more!- Nichole Carter, Basic Rider 1on1

My experience with Superbike Coach Can Akkaya was excellent. It was a positive and informative lesson, making me respect the sport even more! Coach Can is experienced and patient. He’s passionate about motorcycling and serious about the sport. This was my first time riding and he made the lesson comfortable and fun! I walked away with beginning knowledge; and a desire to learn more! I will be taking another class. Thank you!

I am 51, and have minimal riding experience from many years ago and none of it safe or sane. I’m good with my head and my heart. Imagine my surprise when I learned that if I wanted to succeed in class, I needed to get OUT of my head, and trust my body’s connection with the bike. I think I was majorly re-wired yesterday!- Carolyn Godwin, Basic Rider 1on1

I searched for months for a motorcycle class before I decided to book a “1-on-1 basic rider course” with Coach Can. I liked the type of information available on his website, his down-to-earth style, and genuine passion for riding. When I read his reviews online, the reviewers stated they were very satisfied by his technical expertise, personalized teaching style, and their immediate progress in his class either as experienced riders or as a novice (like me). There is something for everyone. I just completed my first three-hour session with him yesterday. He really delivered! I am 51, and have minimal riding experience from many years ago and none of it safe or sane. I’m good with my head and my heart. Imagine my surprise when I learned that if I wanted to succeed in class, I needed to get OUT of my head, and trust my body’s connection with the bike. I think I was majorly re-wired yesterday! Coach Can is so good at what he does because he is a Master (and a Master Tracker). He knew what I was thinking, seeing, sensing, and experiencing before I did. It was instinct with him. And he used that information to personalize the training so he could most efficiently teach me in the way I needed to learn. He is straight up, compassionate, tough, honest, no BS. He loves the sport and walks with integrity. I learned at the same location he taught his wife. We started with the little bike, and moved to the sport bike. We built on success even when there wasn’t much to success find. While I had to start from the beginning of the beginning, we accomplished so much I will be able to take Cornering Class Day 1 in October! I’m so excited! You want a good teacher? You want real progress? You should take a class! Maybe I will see you in October!

What impressed me the most was that I emailed coach the gopro video of my crash, and he was able to give me some possible reasons why it occurred. He’s always been very responsive when I’ve emailed.- Rick Bingham , Track Day, Thunderhill Raceway 8/5/17

After enjoying the cornering school day 1 (CS1) a couple of months ago, I decided to sign up for my first day on a big track (Thunderhill West). CS1 definitely boosted my confidence, which helped me on the big track. Although my day ended pretty early with a low-side, everything up to that point was really cool. The other riders are super friendly–even the A class riders who seriously know their stuff. There’s no air of superiority. What impressed me the most was that I emailed coach the gopro video of my crash, and he was able to give me some possible reasons why it occurred. He’s always been very responsive when I’ve emailed. I’m looking forward to finishing his other CS days and getting back out on the big track (once I get my bike put back together) :)

Ruben M. was breaking into turns with a slight lifted rear end- not even got nervous

If nothing else, watching MotoGP takes on a completely new dimension when you’ve practiced some of those same core skills. Great atmosphere in class, great course content, perfect organization and most of all, top quality coaching.- Ruben M., Cornering School Day 1 to 4

I’ve just finished Cornering School Day 4 – having done CSD 1 to 3 over the last 6 months, and I have to say it was the best investment in riding I could possibly make. Before CSD 1, I was looking to upgrade my bike and I know now just how much more I achieved by upgrading the rider – so not only is the class good value, but I have become a better, more confident and safer rider. We were the first group through the new CSD 4 class and without doubt, I can totally recommend it to any recent CSD3 graduates – even if you never intend to race. CSD1 to 3 gave us a toolkit of new skills, but CSD4 gave us a full day on track with coach’s guidance to put in all into practice, and then some. If nothing else, watching MotoGP takes on a completely new dimension when you’ve practiced some of those same core skills. Great atmosphere in class, great course content, perfect organization and most of all, top quality coaching. Highly recommended.

Coach’s focus on the psychology and working through my mental blocks were incredibly helpful.- Courtney Kelly, Cornering school

It was everything I hoped for and more. I loved Can’s no nonsense teaching style, he was clear and articulate. His focus on the psychology and working through my mental blocks were incredibly helpful. I now have a more clear purpose when I sit on my bike and I have so much more to learn. I can’t wait for my next opportunity to take another class. His passion for the sport is undeniable and very contagious!

I loved Can’s no nonsense teaching style, he was clear and articulate. His focus on the psychology and working through my mental blocks were incredibly helpful.- Courtney Kelly, Cornering School Day 1

It was everything I hoped for and more. I loved Can’s no nonsense teaching style, he was clear and articulate. His focus on the psychology and working through my mental blocks were incredibly helpful. I now have a more clear purpose when I sit on my bike and I have so much more to learn. I can’t wait for my next opportunity to take another class. His passion for the sport is undeniable and very contagious!

– – –

Read Older Reviews Here

And Here

– – –

Send us your testimonial

3 + 5 = ?

Read more reviews about Can Akkaya and his Superbike-Coach Corp on:

Yelp reviews, Google reviews, or Facebook
0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.